Author Topic: brushless upgrade for honey bee v2  (Read 1619 times)

Offline jruleon

brushless upgrade for honey bee v2
« on: November 13, 2010, 06:30:40 PM »
Hi, i'm very new to the hobby so please forgive in advance my basic questions. I am upgrading to a 380 brushless for my honey bee v2 and wanted to know if i needed a esc to go with it or if i just plug it into the stock 4 in 1. If i do need one what would you recommend for a good esc to go with my 380 brushless motor. Also if i do need one can u briefly explain why. Final question (for now at least :0)) I ordered the direct drive pack for my bee as well, do i need anything other than what the standard set-up pack comes with for my tail upgrade. Thanks in advance to anyone willing to take the time to answer my questions. btw any wiring diagrams or links to them would be ideal for these upgrades. Thanks again. Jeff

Gene T

Re: brushless upgrade for honey bee v2
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 08:25:15 PM »
I don't have all the answers, but I do know this. You can't plug a brushless motor into the 4in1 and expect it to work. Basically, brushed motors are DC and given voltage, they run. But brushless motors are completely different. They have three wires and the ESC pulses the wires in order to make the motor spin. Faster pulses, faster spin. The 4in1 doesn't do that.

So if you add a brushless motor, you have to add an ESC and then you have to get the throttle signal from the 4in1 to the ESC. I don't know how to do that either. Not so helpful this evening.

Offline Jolly-Swagman

• MOTM Award
  • Elite member
  • HK-450GT
    • G.A.STEPHEN - Internet Marketing
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 09:03:31 PM »
Here is some info that may be useful to what you wish to do, but from what I can see it is worth as much as the Heli costs in the first place. (this is for the V1 may work for V2)
http://www.rtf-heli.com/ESKYHBFPbrushlesstail.html

DJI F450 ARF Quad Copter Kit - KK2 LCD FCB