Author Topic: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem  (Read 1407 times)

Offline davesheli

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 6197
  • Country: us
    • RumblecloudRC
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2012, 04:43:43 AM »
OK, in your last video....  you did it backwards in the end... (I think :paperbag:)

(1) After plugging in the 4-1 and pushing the bind button and the orange light starts flashing fast

(2) Then unplug the rx battery

(3) Turn on the Tx FIRST!!!

(4) Then (with the Tx red light still blinking fast so hurry) plug in the rx battery

Try that and see what happens, you where plugging in the rx battery first and then the Tx, if I am not mistaking, you need to do it in the order I suggested..... :220:




 :125:

Offline spoonerrw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 439
  • Country: us
    • Photobucket photo's
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2012, 05:48:37 AM »
Dave is right Shaz, and as i said earlier as well... the second you turn on your transmitter, and i mean the very second you do, very quickly get the rx plugged in to the battery! that fast blinking red light when the transmitter is turned on, is the actual code being sent. once the red light on the transmitter stops, the code is done. if you dont get the Rx plugged in before that red light on the transmitter stops... you have to do it again. also... isnt that a new Rx? what happened to the antenna?
Esky Big Outdoor Lama
Esky Brushless E500
Esky Honeybee FP V2 w/CP3 mods x3
Blade MCPX V2 x2
Traxxas LaTRax Alias Quadcopter
Spektrum DX6i
http://www.youtube.com/user/spoonerrgw?feature=mhee
"What goes up, will come down... sometimes painfully

Offline Shazlee69

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2012, 01:19:01 PM »
Guys I've tried that.. switching on the tx first then only plug in back the battery.. still not working..

yah it's a new rx, there was no wire antenna when it arrived.. but for binding it should be okay right? considering the rx seems to be able to communicate with the tx just fine.

Offline firedude52

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Country: us
    • Our eSky Big lama page
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2012, 01:32:31 PM »
Guys I've tried that.. switching on the tx first then only plug in back the battery.. still not working..

yah it's a new rx, there was no wire antenna when it arrived.. but for binding it should be okay right? considering the rx seems to be able to communicate with the tx just fine.

As far as I've ever known Shaz all Rx.'s have an antenna (if we're speaking of 2.4 gHz) and I believe FM too. Even if you get it to work somehow I wouldn't fly it as any distance at all as you would lose signal and the ship is gonna go down. Without an antenna it most likely would work sitting on the bench right next to the Tx due to close proximity. Try a range test for function of servo's etc IF you get it bound somehow and I think you'll find an issue. Unless the hobby.industry has changed and left me behind I think there should be an antenna on the Rx. It's even a remote possibility you aren't getting a proper bind due to this fact as well even as close as you are.  :2cents:
Fire Capt. (ret)
On duty 9-11
RC Heli enthusiast since 1983
Former rotor and fixed wing pilot
Lots of heli's ...........
http://www.youtube.com/user/thefiredude52/videos
http://www.facebook.com/ESkyBigLamaPage#

Offline davesheli

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 6197
  • Country: us
    • RumblecloudRC
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2012, 01:32:52 PM »
OK then, lets try this and see what happens... :220:

This is the ESky binding procedure:

First, try to unbind:
1. Turn off Transmitter (TX)
2. Connect batt to 4in-1
3. Press the bind button on back side of RX, till yellow lights flashes constantly (quick)
4. Disconnect battery

Then, bind the new TX
1. Turn off TX
2. turn on RX
3. turn on TX
4. the light of the RX (orange) will start to flash slowly, and then fast.
5. binding is complete

IF it doesn't work, try to shut off the tx, and then turn it on again.




Offline davesheli

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 6197
  • Country: us
    • RumblecloudRC
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2012, 01:38:20 PM »
Guys I've tried that.. switching on the tx first then only plug in back the battery.. still not working..

yah it's a new rx, there was no wire antenna when it arrived.. but for binding it should be okay right? considering the rx seems to be able to communicate with the tx just fine.

As far as I've ever known Shaz all Rx.'s have an antenna (if we're speaking of 2.4 gHz) and I believe FM too. Even if you get it to work somehow I wouldn't fly it as any distance at all as you would lose signal and the ship is gonna go down. Without an antenna it most likely would work sitting on the bench right next to the Tx due to close proximity. Try a range test for function of servo's etc IF you get it bound somehow and I think you'll find an issue. Unless the hobby.industry has changed and left me behind I think there should be an antenna on the Rx. It's even a remote possibility you aren't getting a proper bind due to this fact as well even as close as you are.  :2cents:


Firedude has a very valid point, it SHOULD HAVE an antenna... You can learn to hover with out an antenna, but you may not have a lot of range when trying to fly around like he said.... However, if it came without an antenna  then it might be damaged prior to you getting it and you need to try to return it for another one and then make sure the new one has an antenna..... :wink:




 :125:

Offline firedude52

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Country: us
    • Our eSky Big lama page
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2012, 01:48:40 PM »
Dave's right here. I think you may have gotten a faulty Rx. due to the fact it came with no antenna. It could be someones return and/or damaged (it does happen more than you'd like to think). In the meantime I'd get on the ball and order a new Rx, you're gong to need one anyway and it may cure all your ails as well. ;).

As Dave said you might be able to hover OK, but without an antenna ANY interference or deflection (since no antenna) would cause a loss of signal and even hover could be very ugly. I personally wouldn't take the chance. Especially if you were hovering close and lose a signal there is no tell what that heli will do or where it would go!
Fire Capt. (ret)
On duty 9-11
RC Heli enthusiast since 1983
Former rotor and fixed wing pilot
Lots of heli's ...........
http://www.youtube.com/user/thefiredude52/videos
http://www.facebook.com/ESkyBigLamaPage#

Offline Shazlee69

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #22 on: October 06, 2012, 03:45:54 AM »
I've just sent an email to the store asking them for a replacement.

I installed back the old rx (35mhz) into my hbv2 and I still have the old tx (35mhz), I'm starting to hate this heli.. since the first day I bought it seemed impossible to hover it in the air. So okay I made the cp3 tail mod like how people are recommending, but still I cant make it hover properly (trying whole day today) and now the swashplate is broken which I need to order coz I dont have local shop around here that sells esky parts. Not to mention that the new rx already gave me weeks of headache.

I give up, thought of buying a new set either esky cp3 or probably esky hbv2 back.. can i know what's the difference between this two? which one better?

I'm considering of buying back hbv2 because my parts (below) just arrived and thought of using the existing bee as spare parts and hopefully the new bee will function well..

http://helidirect.com/xtreme-fiber-reinforced-blade-hb-fp-v1v2-p-9981.hdx
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__9164__Turnigy_1000mAh_3S_25C_Lipo_Pack.html

Can I use the blade and the battery for cp3? Sorry I'm abit confused what to do now and dont know which is more beneficial for me. Any recommendation?

Offline davesheli

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 6197
  • Country: us
    • RumblecloudRC
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2012, 04:12:13 AM »
Yes you can use the battery on a CP3 but not the blades, the HBFP V2 is a fixed pitch heli with curved blades, the HBCP heli is a collective pitch heli with Flat blades, they will not interchange.... BTW: If you think the HBFP heli is hard to fly and is driving you nuts, then the HBCP heli will make you loose it altogether..... It is not recommend to go to a CP heli when you can not hover a FP heli..... The biggest problem with the HBFP V2 heli is set up, once set up properly, it will hover good (with NO wind around) but that is for another topic....





 :125:

Offline spoonerrw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 439
  • Country: us
    • Photobucket photo's
Re: Esky HBv2 Binding Problem
« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2012, 08:47:33 AM »
Dave is right Shaz... learn the FP first. if you try to go to a CP, especially an esky CP heli... you will find nothing but stress and headaches. as Dave said... the Bee has to be set up properly. sadly, they do not fly right out of the box as the suppliers who sell them claim, and it took great advice and help from people here and elsewhere to finally figure out what that proper setup was. mine now will hover hands free for brief periods and are so stable that it isnt funny! but, as i mentioned above... they are heavily modded with cp3 components.

the d/d tail drive will give you accurate and precise tail control, but the hovering requires work with its balancing and swashplate setup and it is really trial and error. are you using training gear? if not, my advice would be to put a set on while you learn. they will save you quite a bit in broken parts and spent dollars in replacing them.

that stinks about the Rx, but i agree completely. if it came with a missing antenna, it was probably bad from the start. it is things like this that run people off from the hobby, but you have held your ground, so, dont give up as people will do their best to help you. you just had a bit of bad parts luck, and we all experience this, so you are not alone. the truth is Shaz, and i mentioned this in an earlier thread of yours... as long as you can fly this Bee with the 35mhz, fly it. unless you are just absolutely determined to have it as a 2.4ghz, which i dont believe you need to do with this one, (in my opinion), fly the thing as it is.. all this time lost trying to do this could have been put to use in proper setup and hovering practice, which is crucial to getting to actual flight. sure, if you can afford it... get another Bee with the 2.4ghz already in it, but use the one you have as is to start hover training, and that is my advice ;).

with the cp3 battery, it will be a bit larger than the stock one, so you may need to adjust its position to make sure of a proper balance of the Bee... but yes, it will work. if you are not sure how to check its balance... just hold it in the air by using your fingertips (battery in and canopy on)under the flybar and move the battery as needed, pretty simple to do.  personally, the larger battery is something you really dont need. the stock battery will be perfect for you while you learn and will give you 6-7 minutes of flight time. and trust me... just learning the Bee... that is more time than you will want at once with it, lol. save future money and use it towards more important things, like some backup parts... but that is your call ;).

the extreme blades are very nice and i have used them before. they will help with stability to some degree.

edit: the things you should keep on hand are parts like this. these are the things that you will be breaking the most and can shut you down for days to weeks if you dont have them on hand and suppliers can go for months with shortages on these parts which could shut you down for extended periods. you can get these from what ever supplier you normally use. this supplier is who i mainly use and is just for reference of the parts. they are out of a few things i see though. while it may seem like a lot, its less that a hundred dollars and will keep you in the air. having the right parts on hand is just part of the hobby. the first six are the most important right now though, but you should eventually aquire as much of it as you can :).
paddle control frame (a couple)
http://helidirect.com/esky-paddle-control-outer-frame-hb-fp-v12-p-3598.hdx
center hub (a couple)
http://helidirect.com/esky-plastic-center-hub-ek-000190-hb-fp-v12-p-19558.hdx
swashplate (a couple)
http://helidirect.com/esky-plastic-swashplate-set-hb-fp-v12-p-3599.hdx
rotorhead set (a couple)
http://helidirect.com/esky-rotor-head-set-hb-fp-v12-p-3592.hdx
ring like push rods (a few sets atleast)
http://helidirect.com/esky-ring-like-push-rod-hb-fp-v12-p-3594.hdx
servo rod set (a couple sets for the dogbone connectors)
http://helidirect.com/esky-pitch-control-link-set-hb-fixed-pitch-v2-p-15776.hdx
flybar
http://helidirect.com/esky-flybar-rod-hb-fixed-pitch-v2-p-15758.hdx
main shaft
http://helidirect.com/esky-main-shaft-dia32-x-845mm-hb-fixed-pitch-v2-p-15777.hdx
main gear
http://helidirect.com/esky-main-shaft-drive-gear-set-honey-bee-cp2fp-v12-p-709.hdx
tail boom
http://helidirect.com/esky-275mm-aluminum-tail-boom-hb-fixed-pitch-v2-p-15773.hdx
main motor (a couple if you can afford them but atleast one)
http://helidirect.com/esky-main-motor-w-10t-pinion-honeybee-fp-v1v2-p-19757.hdx
cp3 tail motor (since you have this mod done and atleast one)
http://helidirect.com/esky-tail-motor-honey-bee-cp3ctcpx-p-15756.hdx
cp3 tail blade set (atleast a couple of these)
http://helidirect.com/esky-plastic-80mm-tail-blade-set-black-hb-cp3ctcpx-p-15781.hdx
Esky Big Outdoor Lama
Esky Brushless E500
Esky Honeybee FP V2 w/CP3 mods x3
Blade MCPX V2 x2
Traxxas LaTRax Alias Quadcopter
Spektrum DX6i
http://www.youtube.com/user/spoonerrgw?feature=mhee
"What goes up, will come down... sometimes painfully