Author Topic: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.  (Read 1295 times)

Offline Scarred6

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« on: July 09, 2012, 05:40:56 AM »
Hi Everone.

I am looking to find parts for my aurora 9 radio when i purchased it and wanted to changed from acro ratchet to heli tension i found the screws were stripped and i couldnt do it are the standard screws or are the special ones?

Also can any one give their base setting for T.Curve, P.Curve, and gyro gain for a belt cp

My current setting are as follows are the rightfor a beginner?

T.Curve P1-0, P2-7 ,P3-14, P4-21, P5-28, P6-35, P7-42.
Idol Up is off
P.Curve P1-0, P7-100
Gyro Rate 1: 70%/T.lock
     Mode: duel

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline pinguin6218

  • MOTM Award
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: id
  • Practice makes perfect
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 07:33:17 PM »
Go to your local hardware store to find a screw that match with yours.

I don't have a 7 point radio, but you can try this:
T curve (norm): 0, 15, 35, 50, 60, 70, 80

Pitch normal, you want to have -2, 0, 12, assuming you set the pitch as -12, 0, 12. But if you want to make it more docile, you can set the pitch as  -10, 0,10. You need -2 in case you are flying at high wind and you need to bring the hel down. You set the percentage accordingly.  ?, ?, ?, 50, inh, inh, 100.
Pitch stunt/idle up, set as linear: 0, inh, inh, 50, inh, inh, 100 (in percent) or -10, 0, 10 in degree.
   Be Blessed

Offline Scarred6

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2012, 02:10:56 AM »
Thanks for the info that was way more helpful the my local HS.

Offline chaos505

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2012, 12:54:11 AM »
hey all

i am using a hitec aurora 9
and on my 250 it works grate
on my 450 the gyro gain is at 100% and i get no wag and the tail dosent hold most of the time

the 250 is using a kds 800
the 450 is using a dynam GY48V

the dynam gyro worked good on the 450 pro frame
but wen i moved it to the v2 frame it stopped working.

also started using the A9 on the v2 frame was using a Optic 6 sport

so i dont know if its the A9 or the gyro at fault?
ive tested with the optic 6 and the tail bobs vertical but the tail shaft is not bent.

im so confused haha.

could my gyro be faulty?
would i need to get a new one?
and is the HK401B a good gyro for a 450 heli?


thanks all
:)

happy flying!!

Offline pinguin6218

  • MOTM Award
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: id
  • Practice makes perfect
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2012, 07:06:37 AM »
Check the wire on your gyro. Maybe you need to resolder the wire to the gyro board.
I would prefer GA-250 over HK 401.
   Be Blessed

Offline chaos505

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 06:13:01 AM »
i don't think its the wire that's loose
it still works and the red light turns off and on when i hit the gyro switch
and when i hold the heli in my have and move it the tail servo responses

could it maybe the gyro is not comparable with the A9?
 

Offline pinguin6218

  • MOTM Award
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: id
  • Practice makes perfect
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 08:47:43 AM »
Are you using the same servo on both heli? It could be the gyro is not compatible with the servo.
I found with cheap gyro, when using digital servo, it is better to set the gyro to analog servo.

   Be Blessed

Offline chaos505

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2012, 01:09:49 PM »
Mmm that could be he case.
On the 250 I'm using a savox MG digital servo
And on the 450 I'm using a kds PG digital servo

Offline chaos505

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2012, 06:18:20 AM »
would putting the gyro in analog with a digital servo not damage the servo?

Offline pinguin6218

  • MOTM Award
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: id
  • Practice makes perfect
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2012, 09:30:26 AM »
gyro set to analog, with digital servo. OK
gyro set to digital, with analog servo. BAD.
   Be Blessed

Offline chaos505

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2012, 11:50:29 PM »
Ok tried the gyro on ds and alalog
Moved the servo on the boom to get the right blade position
But from what I can see is the. Tail blades spin anti clockwise and the pitch slider pulls to the left to counter torc
I got more travil to the right then I do to the left
My thought is that I may not be getting enough angel of attack on my tail blades

So Shuld I revers the rotaition I'd the blades clock wise to take advantage of the extra travil on the right
Or could it be the pitch slider form hk I will look at replacing it with a align part
When it used to work it was on a hk tail shaft witch is longer than the align tail shafts

Offline pinguin6218

  • MOTM Award
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: id
  • Practice makes perfect
Re: Aurora 9 Heli Setup and questions.
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2012, 07:50:04 AM »
How is the servo behaves when you switch to analog?
No need to change the tail blade rotation. Try to set up your tail like this. Have the servo horn at 90 degree. Move the servo up and down the boom until you got +/- 8 degree of pitch. If you get more travel on one side, that is alright. Set your servo travel / limit, so it won't bind to both side.
Hover your heli in rate mode. If the tail swing to one direction, correct it with moving the servo position. You can also adjust the ball link instead. You do this until you got almost perfect. It will be very difficult to get it perfect.
The pitch slider position at rate mode can be assume as zero point. What I usually do, suppose you have less travel to the left then right. Measure how much the pitch slider can move. Say, for example 3 mm. Adjust your servo limit, so the right side will also move 3mm, even it can do more, but you don't need it. If you set it more than 3 mm, it will make your piro speed not equal between left and right. So from zero point, you will have the same travel for left and right.
   Be Blessed